Don’t Give Up The Ship

I’ve been trying to improve my skills using Adobe Creative Suite lately and spent some time playing around.  I read the quote a few weeks prior and really liked it and thought it went well with this photo from surf photographer Trent Mitchell.  Aside from the photo all other design was my own.

During the War of 1812 Captain James Lawrence led a crew aboard the Chesapeake into battle with a more seasoned ship more experienced by nearly 7 years.  It was a bloody defeat for the US Navy that lasted only 15 minutes.  Before reaching their ultimate demise, Lawrence ‘s shouted out his final command to the crew:

“Don’t give up the ship!”

This last spoken command became a battle cry among the American fleet throughout the remained of the war.

I hope this will be the first of many more projects like this in the future.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment