channeling my inner hipster…

Aside from finding an apartment in Richmond, one of the school related needs I have been addressing in my mind over the past few weeks has been transportation.  I have always wanted a scooter to zip around town on so I pitched the idea to the boss.  Needless to say I am now looking at bikes. 

I do have a nice mountain bike that I picked up last year.   However, due to the torcherous Minnesota winters it sat in my garage untouched from about October of last year until earlier this month.  It pains me to say even entertain the thought of gettting rid of the bike considering I’ve only put about 30 miles on it but the conclusion I have come to is that if I am going to be riding this thing 5-7 miles per day to and from school I think I need something more practical for urban commuting.  Those of you that have ridden a big knobby-tired mountain bike long distances on the street can certainly empathize. 

After much research I am in the process of putting together a deal with a dude I came across via craigslist for what I think may be exactly what I am looking for.  Cue Vampire Weekend — My first fixie.  He has a brand new fixed gear  by Specialized, still under warranty and in great shape.  Much like my mountain bike.  They are comparable in price so we may just swap bikes….no cash needed.    I am meeting him this afternoon so I will be sure to let you know how it goes.

Those of you that know me can attest that style is equally important as function in my mind.  Thats what I love about the Roll….I get the quality and dependability of Specialized bikes without sacrificing a sweet looking ride!  Look at these bikes and tell me they dont look amazing:

If I manage to make the swap I would be getting the black bike at the top.  It happens to be my least favorite color scheme of the 3 but alas it was all I could find.  It would be pretty sweet to put those blue rims on the black frame so maybe I can piece something together later.  

Coming from ultra conservative corporate america where hipsters, artists, and roustabouts are looked at only from the top of one’s nose this definitely feels like a transgression.  It also feels so good!  Perhaps I am just now embracing the real me and pursuing the life I have wanted all along.  I’ve already got the beat up Vans classics, Ray-Bans, and now this (Note: I still cannot grow a mustache).  It was only a matter of time I suppose after deciding to go to the Brandcenter that this would rub off.  I’m just getting an early start.  Whatever your opinion of this whole matter is just know that I am excited!  I have a good feeling about this whole thing.

On an related note I feel that the new bike will likely jeopardize my ability to heckle my kid brother Bert about being a hipster. 

If you can’t beat ’em join ’em!

2 thoughts on “channeling my inner hipster…

  1. Michael H. says:

    nooooooo!!!!

  2. Jamie says:

    Q. How many hipsters does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
    A. You don’t know?

    Q. How many hipsters does it take to flush a toilet?
    A. You can’t touch that toilet, it’s art.

    Q: How many hipsters should die?
    A: All of them.

    Q: How many hipsters does it take to screw in a light bulb?
    A: Dude, the light bulb was cooler before it changed.

    Q: How many hipsters does it take to screw in a light bulb?
    A: It’s such a cool number, you’ve probably never heard of it.

    ps- i love hipsters

Leave a Reply

