Catch the fever!

There’s something going around.  I’ve got a fever and this time the only prescription isn’t more cowbell (although it certainly couldn’t hurt!). 

I’m talking about entrepreneurship. 

It seems like everywhere I look there is another small business being put together by cool, young entrepreneurs.  I can’t help but feel inspired by this trend and have been thinking for a long time that it would be really cool to start my own biz.  One of my favorite sources of inspiration is Inc. magazine’s 30 Under 30, an annual feature that spotlights the 30 top entrepreneurs under the age of 30.  Check it out here.

As I prepare to go back to grad school I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about where I want to end up when I’m done.  The more obvious debate is typically agency vs. client.  As a Creative Brand Manager at the Brandcenter I have a little more flexibility to pursue a full-time gig with an advertising agency in account management, strategy, or planning or go client side and focus more on brand management with companies like Nike or Apple.  These would undoubtedly be great places to work.  But there is this small part of me that wants to throw these options to the wind and do my own thing.  You know, really stick it to the Man!

 This is certainly the riskier path.  But, as I firmly believe, with great risk comes great reward.  I can think of nothing more fulfilling than building a strong business from the ground up.  I’m not preparing to break ground yet but I’ve got a few ideas.  One of the great things about grad school is that in addition to getting an education it provides access to a network of innovative, creative minds.  People that are driven and just as hungry to create the next big as I am.  I’m definitely looking forward to meeting my future classmates, drawing inspiration from them, and maybe even gettin down to business. 

Here is one of the small businesses I have come across recently that I have been especially motivated by:

Sole Bicycle Co.

 

A small bicycle brand offering inexpensive and stylish fixed gear/single speed bikes.  Started up by the dudes below in LA when they wanted a fixie but couldn’t afford one. 

They are basically just sourcing quality stuff from China that is still affordable. 

You know who else is a pro sourcer?  Who will be a branding guru soon enough? 

Thats right….

Look for me. 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Catch the fever!

  1. Chelsea says:

    Text Rex?? 🙂

    • cam ferrin says:

      Ha! Did I ever tell you I saw a commercial a few months ago for a company that was doing the exact same thing Aaron and I were planning? I dont remember the name but it was something strangely similar to ours….Text Turtle maybe? It was a golden idea and you know it!

Leave a Reply

