The Burning House

Some may remember a few months back when I added a site to my blogroll called The Burning House.  I really loved the idea of collecting all the things that are special or important (and capable of being carried out of a burning house with very little time) and laying them all out.  Its a much more difficult task than I initially thought.  It is amazing how much you can tell about people by what they choose – their priorities, interests, beliefs.  After first coming across this TBH I really wanted to try and pull all my things together for a photo but I never took the time to do it.  I have been thinking about it for quite a few weeks and today bit the bullet.  The photo quality isn’t great (thx iPhone) but shame on me for not having a real camera.  I did attempt to spruce it up with good ol’ Instagram.  Either way, I thought I would share here.  Who knows how long it will take to make it onto the site if it ever makes it at all.

You can be sure if it does I will post a link.

Here are the items I would take with me if I had to run out of my burning house without notice…

List

Action Journal – I use this notebook to record all my thoughts, goals, inspiration

Watch – Timeless style and functional, how could I not?

Earbuds

Magic wallet – All my ID and all my cash…which unfortunately isn’t much

Vintage leather plaque belt

Brown leather bomber – Gift from my brother

Trifecta chain – I had this made after my youngest brother passed away about a year ago.  I have 2 brothers and we are incredibly close.  I wanted something to symbolize this and help keep him near my heart.

Ray Ban Wayfarers

Macbook Pro – Gotta take all my work, music, and pictures

Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway – This is the book my father used to read to me in adolescence and was the book that really taught me to love  literature.

Favorite picture of me and my best buds – My dad and 2 brothers

Jack Purcell’s – best sneakers ever

Favorite pair of raw selvedge denim

Wooden carving sculpture – Picked it up in Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Not Pictured:  Beautiful wife & 2 mangy boys.  They would obviously be out before any of this stuff 🙂

So there you have it.  After much thought this is the list I came up with.  Its an interesting mix of sentimental & practicality.  I’m sure I could come up with a different list every day but I think this is a good representation of me.

The funny thing when you step back and ponder the burning house question is that really all this stuff is replaceable.  Its just stuff.  Sure it means something to me and has sentimental value but at the end of the day all I really need I carry with me in my mind and in my heart.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

